More Forensics and Fiction by DP Lyle, MD…the things I read for FUN!

While I write romantic suspense (which some of them are a little heavier on the romance than the suspense) I have a bit of a morbid curiosity. While Researching for THE BUTTERFLY MURDERS, a novel I’m shopping around to agents and editors, I needed to understand how bodies decade…yep. So I did some research on-line, but also turned to DP Lyle, MD, a fabulous writer I met years ago at Thrillerfest who has some really great books for writers and found out what I needed to know…and more.

screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-11-40-09-amThen I pulled out one of his books titled MORE FORENSICS AND FICTION: Crime Writers’ Morbidly Curious Questions Expertly Answered. He had me at Morbidly…

I love how the book is set up and in the Table of Contents are all the questions that are answered, so you can quickly read through those and then flip to the one you need answers to. Just a couple of questions that caught my attention are:

Can injected Alcohol kill an already intoxicated person?

Will snake venom injected into fruit cause death? (I need to use that one!)

Can stored blood be used to fake a death?

What cause of death is difficult to determine at autopsy?

Could DNA from spontaneously combusted vampire reveal their age? (Love that one!)

And so many more. Even if you’re not looking for something specific, just reading parts of this books can spark a million different ideas! I highly recommend it!

Read on people….

Get the first book in The New York State Trooper Series: IN TWO WEEKS for free!

Author: Jen Talty

Award Winning and Bestselling Author of Romantic Suspense. Where there is murder there is love...

Leave a Reply

